Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A movement is afoot. One borne of goodness instead of hate and anger. Something we ALL can participate in. Something, my friends, that was started here, in Prince George. That’s right, our beautiful city. That slowly growing movement is the One Positive One Gratitude Movement or #onepositiveonegratitude if you are seeking to be a part of. And you can be a part of it.

We are all inherently good people. We all, even the most heinous of us have something positive about our character that we can and should acknowledge. Yes, even The Donald might find, if he were to look deep enough, a redeeming or positive quality. dalailama446740I can say that because when I or we find something positive within ourselves we are more likely to notice the positive traits of others. It is not as easy as one might think, however.
A least not for me and many others I know. We have had a lifetime of negative reinforcing messages through media, family and loved ones. Those are painful but they do not define us if we choose not to let them.

Positive: A good, affirmative, or constructive quality or attribute.

“take your weaknesses and translate them into positives”

The history comes from a time when I was changing when I realized that I do have some redeeming qualities and I needed to explore them, acknowledge them and share them. At first, I kept them to myself, then I opened up to one person, then one day I put it on Twitter.  Just recently, my blogger friend Sarah, whose writing you can read at “Musings of The Amusing Muse”, had somehow needed to use the Positive and Gratitude to help her feel better or good or whatever, in my selfishness I never asked and I don’t think I even thanked her for giving this movement a kick start.

The second part of this daily ritual is the Gratitude.  A heart or spirit harbor resentment when it is filled with gratitude. True that, I know. For me resentment is the number one killer. I can hold that resentment, if I choose, for a long time. There is a saying the puts it into perspective; “Resentment is like taking poison and waiting for the other person to die.” That quote has been attributed to everyone from The Buddha to Nelson Mandela, whomever said it, nailed it.

Gratitude: The quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness.

“she expressed her gratitude to the committee for their support”

Think of one thing for which you are grateful. It could be anything from the colour blue to something as profound as divine intervention.2A3C424B00000578-3155949-image-a-27_1436518867307 It’s not for anyone else to judge why or for what you are grateful and neither is it up to anyone else to decide what is positive about you. Only you can do that.

Join the movement, you deserve to acknowledge your goodness and share with us those great things about you and those wonderful people, places, things and events that cause you to be grateful. You will find it a great way to start the day, and when maintained, a way to deflect negativity from anywhere.

This my friends is an all inclusive movement that can, if we share it, can spread across the globe. Share with us your One Positive and One Gratitude each day.

 

 

