Tags

, , , , , ,

 

I never really had a writer’s block. More of the creative block hat always kept me just on the edge of seeing what was in my imagination. Let me tell you, if you are the creative sort and you experience this for any length of time, it is one scary situation. In fact, my greatest fear is not being able to get what’s in my head down on paper, canvas, pixels….etc.

Today there seems to be a clarity and a deluge of imagery . Like a creative damn has broken in my mind and a flood of ideas is washing over me. I had talked to other about the block, my lovely muse would ask me, daily, if it had cleared. “I don’t know. OK?” was always my answer. Perhaps, a little too brusque. She never retaliated she just nodded and said “alright”. One artist said to go and make shit, make shitty images until something not shitty emerges. I did that, I prayed, I meditated, I howled at the gods of creativity, I looked at what other artists were doing, I sought inspiration everywhere and although I felt I wasn’t seeing any – I must have been feeling some. Once the eyes and the spirit hooked up properly, I began to see, once again, beauty in the most mundane. Fragments came and those fragments began to assemble themselves into full pictures, similar to how my grandsons put together a puzzle. And, I might add, I assembled those “puzzle” pieces with the same joy and excitement. Seeing, in my mind’s eye what the final piece will look like and knowing that, in reality, it rarely looks like it. I’ve come to terms with that.

I have, and this may be another reason why my curse was broken, started to get back to image compositing, 3D and 2D imagery, fantasy type photography. Is it my roots? No. It is, however, a style or genre that I had become more and more talented and creative than at other times in life. I don’t think it was a conscious decision to return to the discipline. More an influence of what I’d been reading, what I’d been viewing and also, yes, marketability of images with view towards next years Northern Fancon. Yea, as much as we creatives hate the thought, we need to smash the myth of the “starving artist”. It only serves to diminish the value of ALL our work. Creating is work and it can be demanding work, physically, mentally and emotionally. It’s alright to create for the sake of making beautiful shit, my friends, but if any of you say “I have never thought of how sweet it would be to make a living while doing it”, I say you aren’t being honest. Fact is, friends, you can make a living. Like any other profession, we start at the the beginning and work our way forward or up or however you view it. You will have to humble yourself, you will have to accept rejection and outright critical snobbery, you will suffer the slings and arrows of your insecure contemporaries who fear your success, you will be attacked by the voices in your head that call you a fake and a wannabe. Still, if you desire it, you will succeed.

Well. enough of that inspirational stuff. It’s time for me to get at the creating bit and worry about the marketing later. I’ll leave you with a few new images that got me through the block.

