Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Morbid reflection serves no useful purpose whatsoever.

None.

I could look back at the wasted years and cry foul to whomever would be prepared to agree and/or take up my cause! Woe is me! The downtrodden loser, the poor soul that was beaten by a step father, abused by others, never had enough to eat, bullied for being poor, helped his drunk mother get into the car that killed her, the once hopeless drunk/addict that lost everything…etc etc etc.

That was me. No, really. That was me and it could still be me if I choose to stay in that morbid cesspool of self pity.

That isn’t to say that our experiences can’t help others as well as help us to avoid doing the same thing over and over again.

The definition of insanity is; doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result

Einstein

Smart guy that Einstein fellow. He had his shit together.  think I’d like to have had coffee with the man.

Once I realized that there is no useful purpose staying in that state of useless self pity, I began to grow. My eyes opened to an entirely different world. I learned what humility was. I began to think less of myself and more of others. Not only that but I began to rejoice in others successes!

Morbid reflection kept me away from that. Kept me away from seeing the beauty in others. It kept me in a prison whose barred windows afford me only a dark view of a terrible terrible world. I was trapped in a self imposed exile that I never really needed.

Today. I am free.

