Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I know I haven’t been writing in a chronological order but I tend to ramble. My next post will be set back in Athens and…well…you’ll see.

I just have to share some fun times while Kat and I were in Santorini.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The island is small enough to drive from one end to the other on a quad, which we did. I am not a fan of quads. I never have been.  They are noisy and encourage redneckedness and recklessness (the two often go hand in hand). I have even broken my wrist while flying from a quad (no, not redneck but unsafe riding).  I digress, again. We decided to rent a quad for €31.00 or $38.00 a day, which consists of a 24 hour period, unlimited mileage a storage unit on the back, some basic instructions (I have crashed a quad before so I was good on the operation part), and directions to a gas station. The proprietor was stunned when we told him that gas in Canada was higher than in Greece. He immediately had a reason why. Canada and Greece do not have BOMBS.  “You’ll see, my friend,” he says to me, “when we get bombs, gas prices will go down.”  I could not argue the logic presented and with a solid grasp of world events, I concurred wholeheartedly.

I have to start by telling you that although driving on Santorini is not as hair raising or harrowing as Mykonos, it is a bit sketchy. I have come to believe that double lines, stop signs and speed limit signs are simple road decorations to be viewed but not followed.  I don’t believe I saw one vehicle pass me or another in a designated broken line stretch of road. I suppose it doesn’t matter that there may be only a few kilometers of straight stretch on either island.

I would, however, recommend the rental. They picked us up from the hotel, brought us to the rental place and when I returned the quad, I was given a ride back to the hotel. Considering the limited reach of the buses and the outrageous cost of taxis, I highly recommend the rental. You will get to see the real island. Both, beyond the tourist areas and within the recommended sites. Off the beaten path my friends, that’s where the gems can be. I have included a gallery with highlights of the trip, including a short video of  what it is like to ride the Santorini roadways.

First let me touch on the hat in the title. In a previous post; Laughter, Food and The Sea, I mentioned Jimmy the captain. Well, I had this cowboy style hat (ironic since I abhor cowboys and the hippie beating ways) and Mr. jimmy liked the hat. He wanted the hat and I denied him that particular hat. In payment, the gods, probably Poseidon, saw fit to have me leave my hat on the tallest point in Santorini. I emailed Jimmy and told him if he really wanted the ht, it was there for the taking. Let’s see how bad he wants it.

I really can’t describe what it was like driving home from Oia after eating down on the waterfront at a restaurant called Dimitri’s. The last restaurant on the quayside and owned by, you guessed it, Dimitri. The funny part of the story is that Dimitri has a wife from Vancouver, it gets better. Ellen, I think her name was, has a niece and a nephew, yes yes, so what? Well, they happen to go to school right here at UNBC! Now that, my friends, is a small world.

Now, as I was saying. There is nothing like taking roads with a 15% grade, add a quad, cool evening air, Greek AND tourist drivers, a howling wind off the sea and no guardrails to make for an adventurous ride home. I wish I could describe it better. I wish I could impart the experience through some sort of mind meld. Because, unless you have done this, you ain’t never gonna get it.

Being a neophyte at video editing, compression, formats etc…..the video is temporarily unavailable. That’s OK, it will appear somewhere at sometime in some fashion.

