Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have decided that some time off from my “real job” was in order. I needed time to re-energize. Was I feeling stressed? No. Was I feeling burnt out, overwhelmed, over worked or any of the multitude of negative things associated with a guy needing to take some time off? No no no and no. What I did need was time at home during the winter, time when I can actually step out and see a little sun light. Time away from fluorescent lights and humming of machines, ringing of phones, business emails and client demands. I needed a mini sabbatical. At first, a week. Then, I realized I have enough vacay pay to make it worth my while. So, I added the second week as well. The hustle and bustle of holiday time is NOT a restful time. People visiting, we visit others, parties, shopping, celebrations, dinners dances and all that social nonsense is enough to drive me back to work.

I have decided to do something fun. Each day, I will strive to be creative. I will do something each day that draws on my creative nature. It can be painting, like this one here, based on the image I shot while in Toronto last August. Here is the progression of that particular piece.

So far, so good. I have been able to write a blog post for work and a local media outlet, an interview with local artist Carol Whetter and her jump from part time to full time artist. I will be posting the link to that interview later on. Perhaps in my Weekly Photo Challenge post. I have also been more aware, I go through those phases that all artists do. The creative stagnation phase. It is a horrendous phase that seems to suck the life right out of me. I know in my spirit I want to create but I can’t seem to get my imagination going. I needed a kick start. This mini hiatus has done just that. When I walk into my studio, it is time to work. No messing about. I was inspired by Carol and the interview she gave. I also came across this bumper sticker from Northern Sun.  I am, therefore, willing to challenge myself. To work. I do not wish to be some sort of flighty, half artist, pro wannabee. I am happy to say that, so far, I have been able to keep the creative juices flowing.

Artwork IS Work

Artwork IS Work

My eyes seem to have re-opened. I am “seeing” shit. Not in my old LSD laced visions of the past. I am able to see tings differently. I can look past the trees and see the forest. Speaking of trees, I shot this last night. I know I can do better. I have a few ideas on how I can make the moon a little less exposed and still not lose the detail in the tree or lose the stars altogether. I had posted it here and gotten some rave reviews. I am not so sure I would rave as much as some but it isn’t too bad a shot for an “on the fly in the bitter cold without a coat” kinda way.

IMG_2283

I will keep creating. Whether I have a day job or not. I will create because it is fulfilling my primary purpose. Sometimes, I just need a reminder of why I am here.

Peace

 

 

